Errata & Clarifications
 
 
Card Errata
Rule Clarifications
Interest
Main Page

Card Errata

"Commit To Dig In" was left off the following cards: 5cm Mortar; 8cm Mortar; Rangers.

The Blown Dam card should have been labeled "Unique."

These cards may only be attached to Infantry Soldier units: Bazooka Team, Iron Cross, Medal Of Honor, MG Crew, Nude Resistance, Panzerfausts, Trenchfoot.

Pillbox - Only infantry soldier units and antitank units can occupy a Pillbox.  It is possible for an AA unit that is also an AT unit to be placed into a pillbox.  The point is moot for the 90mm gun because there are no American Fortification cards.  The Germans, however, built large fortified flak towers, that for game purposes are functionally equivalent to a Pillbox or Fortified Building card.  These flak towers could house 88mm AA/AT guns and were de-signed to allow them to fire at passing aircraft.

Cargo Truck - A Cargo Truck can only carry actual infantry soldier units.

Fortified Building -Only infantry soldier units and antitank units can be placed within a Fortified Building.

Halftrack - A Halftrack can only transport actual infantry soldier units.

INFANTRY SOLDIER NOTE:  An infantry soldier unit is an infantry unit with the word "Infantry" in the subhead.
 
 

Rule Clarifications  [go to Top; Errata; Interest; Main Page]

Airborne Platoon

Airborne assaults can only be made against zones on the Battlefield, which doesn't include either Head-quarters.  Airborne platoons can, of course, take part in conventional ground assaults against the enemy Headquarters.

Armorer's Miracle

There has been a lot of discussion about how this card works, and it can be somewhat tricky to deal with.  The Armorer's Miracle card does not take effect until after the combat/ bombardment in which the affected Armor unit was de-stroyed.  An Armor unit that has been destroyed loses all attached cards before the Armorers Miracle returns it to play.  Any armor unit saved by an Armorer's Miracle in combat is redeployed into your Headquarters after the second round of combat is completed.  If your opponent assaults your Headquarters and wins,  Armorer's Miracle will have no effect because at the end of the second round of combat the game ends.

Bad Coordinates

To prevent confusion this card should always be before your opponent rolls dice for the bombardment you wish to redirect. Any friendly units in a zone adjacent to the targeted zone are eligible to be hit as the result of a Bad Coordinates card. Units making an assault into the target's zone are also eligible targets for the results of a Bad Coordinates card-Use the Terrain modifiersfor the zone they are assaulting, not the zone they are assaulting from.  If there are no adjacent friendly units, then the attack hits nothing.  Account for terrain effects for the zone the unfortunate friendly unit is in.  Thus, if you randomly determine that the attack hits your unfortified infantry unit sitting in a heavy forest, the +2 FP modifier would apply.  If an unspotted unit is the target of an attack due to a Bad Coordinates card, use the lower of the bombarding unit's infFP or armFP.  The unit being bombarded remains unspotted.  Note that the Partisan Activity card is not a unit, and therefore not a legitimate target for bombardments misdirected by Bad Coordinates.

Forward  Observer

The TN bonus granted by a Forward Observer affects any Artillery fired in support of assaults and defense as well as bombardment.

Command Hit

This card may be played against a unit with no leader.  Obviously, no leader will be killed, though the unit will suffer the -1 def.

Company CO

The bonus given by a Company CO applies only to assaults and direct defense against assaults.  Ranged artillery bombardments do not gain the benefit of a Company CO.  The effects of multiple Company COs are not cumulative-only one Company CO can affect units in one zone.

Conscripts

Conscripts have a Supply Cost of 0 and can be deployed during the initial pregame deployment.

If a Conscript unit deserts as the result of an attempted assault, the desertion occurs before the assault actually kicks off.  Thus, armor units accompanying the Conscripts may be victimized by the infantry support rule if no other non-armor units accompanied the assault.  If a mounted Conscript unit deserts, it will not take the transport unit with it-the transport is a separate unit and the soldiers in t at unit will not allow the con-scripts to run off with their vehicles.  Conscripts do not have to check for desertion when attacking a Partisan Activity card because an attack against a Partisan Activity card is not consid-ered an assault.

Demolition

The Demolition card may be played on the enemy's Head-quarters.

DUKW

This card can only be played on actual infantry soldier units.

Erwin Rommel

Because generals are indefinite, they don't usually stay in play very long.  This applies to Omar Bradley and George Patton as well as Rommel.

This is, after all, a regimental-level game and the cards represent platoon-sized elements.  It's doubtful that you'll ever have more than a couple battalions worth of units on the Battlefield at once.  Your game represents a fairly small battle (or a small part of a larger one), and presumably Generals of Patton's, Rommel's, and Bradley's stature have other things to devote their attention to.

George Patton

Patton was a leader whose direct pressure was able to push units beyond their usual limits (hence his ability to grant an extra MF to up to three armour units in a zone-a MF that can be used for movement or an extra assault).  Unfortunately, Patton rubbed a lot of people the wrong way, and his successes only fueled the infighting between senior generals (especially him and Montgomery) over strategy and logistics.  Because of this, when Patton is successful (assaults and captures an enemy-held zone), he risks temporarily losing some logistical support to other jealous leaders.  Keep in mind that there is only a one-in-six chance of losing a die of Supply-it's not like it happens every time.

The text on the Patton card is vague, and the way the card is played needs to be clarified.  First, only check for Supply loss when the units that Patton is personally kicking in the petooty assault and capture an enemy-held zone.  A check is made each time these units capture a zone, but no than one Supply die can be lost in this way per turn-the more zones captured by your units, the more likely it is that you will suffer the Supply loss.

Gun Tubes Worn

To repair a unit after this card has been played on it (i.e. remove the Gun Tubes Worn card), you must pay the Supply cost listed in the upper left corner of the unit card during your Reinforcement Phase.  You cannot play a second Gun Tubes Worn card on an artillery unit that is already under the effects of a Gun Tubes Worn card.

Me-262

The Me-262 can ignore the first enemy CAP fighter that tries to intercept it.  If your opponent has a fighter on CAP as you bring your Me-262 on the board, and declares that it will intercept you, just thumb your nose at the unfortunate fellow.  If he or she has two fighters on CAP, and they both move to intercept, you can ignore one but not the other.

Medic

The Medic can prevent any infantry unit from being destroyed.  Unlike units brought back from destruction by an Armorer's Miracle, units saved by a Medic do not lose cards at-tached to them.

Monty Throws a Fit

Monty Throws a Fit prevents assaults.  Artillery bombardments and air strikes are not assaults, and may still be carried out when this card is in effect.

Order Confusion

If you declare an assault and your opponent uses an Order Confusion card on one of your assaulting units, that unit commits before the assault begins.  The rest of your forces will assault as normal (and if they are all armor units, they may find them-selves prey to the infantry support rule)-you cannot decide not to assault with your remaining units.  You can, of course, opt to withdraw after the first round of combat-if your assaulting units are still alive.

You do not have to pay assault Supply for units that do not assault due to an Order Confusion.

If an Order Confusion card is played on an aircraft, the aircraft unit halts when the card is played, but does not commit (since aircraft never do).  The unit may recon and perform air strikes as normal from the point at which it halted-although if it is adjacent to friendly zones, the point is moot.

Partisan Activity

When played, the Partisan Activity card is attached to a zone occupied by enemy units (this can include the enemy Headquarters).  Once played the Partisan Activity card remains attached to that zone until it is destroyed.

During your Fire & Maneuver Phase, the Partisan Activity card may make one 2 FP attack against any target unit within the zone the card is attached to.  The target unit does not have to be spotted.  Being attacked by a Partisan Activity card does not cause an unspotted target unit to become spotted.  Partisans have no way of spotting enemy units; how-ever, they do count as being "adja-cent to" enemy units in the zone for purposes of unspotting-in other words, they prevent spotted units in the zone from becoming unspotted.

A partisan attack is not an assault-it does not cost Supply, enemy units do not get to return fire, and the partisans attack only once, not in two rounds.  A partisan attack may not be supported by artillery or flanking attacks.  During your opponent's Fire & Maneuver Phase, any enemy infantry units in the zone with the partisans may attack them.  This commits the enemy unit(s), but does not cost Supply.  This is not an assault-the enemy unit simply makes a single attack roll using its infFP.  The partisans don't fire back.

Partisans may be refitted if a line of Supply exists to friendly forces-that is, if the partisans' zone is adjacent to a friendly-held zone in supply.  The Partisan Activity card is not a unit and cannot be the target of special cards that target units, such as Trenchfoot and Order Confusion.

Sabotage

You need not spot a Railhead or even know for sure that your oppo-nent has one to use a Sabotage card against it.  However, if you play a Sabotage card and elect to make an attack against a Railhead, and your opponent does not have a Railhead, the card is wasted.

Sarge is Hit!

A Sarge is Hit! card must be played on a single unit, even in the case of mounted units.  In other words, the owning player can specify whether it is played on the transport unit or the mounted infantry unit.  After rolling for the effect, though, the two units behave in all other re-spects as a single unit.  If the target unit (whichever one it was) failed the Sarge is Hit! check, the whole stack must withdraw.

Scramble

Aircraft are never committed.  The Scramble card was specifically intended to allow you to both fly your aircraft during your Air Action Phase and scramble to intercept enemy aircraft during the enemy's Air Action Phase.

SNAFU

A SNAFU card forces a unit to move in a random direction, but does not automatically commit the unit.  If after expending one MF due to a SNAFU a motorized unit has one MF remaining, then it may move again.

Tanker Ace

This card only negates the infantry support rule for the unit it is attached to. Infantry can continue to enjoy the infantry support rule when firing on other tanks in an all-armor assault.

Wurfrahmen 40

The Wurfrahmen 40 card is used in the same manner as the HVAP card. it is paid for and deployed when needed, and used immediately.  In the case of this card, this would be during either the Bombardment or Fire & Maneuver Phase.

Ultra

Only one -1 TN bonus may be gained from an Ultra card-playing addi-tional Ultra cards will not increase this effect.

Zee Final Note On Assaults

An assault occurs from the last zone the unit is in before entering an enemy zone.  Meaning, a motorized unit cannot pass through a full zone to attack an enemy zone and retreat to where it started from.
 
 

Interest [go to Top; Errata; Clarifications; Main Page]

German Air Ace

Some players were interested in knowing what type of plane the German Air Ace is sitting in on the card's picture.  Unfortunately, the original source photo is not much more help than the image on the card.  We think that it is a Fw 190-A3 (not the same as either the 190-D or the -A8, which are in the game), though we're not completely positive.  We can confirm that it is a German pilot in a German plane-not, as some people have suggested a captured Allied plane.

German Ferry

The information for many of the photographs at the National Ar-chives (where most of The Last Crusade's photograph research was done) is pretty sketchy.  The photo on this card was the only decent photo of a ferry used in a military context that we could find.  We assume that it is in fact a captured Russian ferry.

Heavy Forest

Forest Terrain cards give a bonus to artillery units firing into the zone.  At first glance, this may not seem to make sense, but it does.  Artillery rounds normally explode upon impact with the ground.  This causes much of the round's explosive force to be wasted blasting a crater.  The crater itself serves to channel much of the remaining energy straight up and away from any targets in the area.  When artillery impacts in a wooded area, rounds often strike tree limbs and explode in mid-air, allowing more of the round's energy to hit nearby targets.  In addition, shattered tree limbs greatly enhance the rounds' fragmentation effect.  The same reasoning applies to the artillery bonus given to the Light Woods terrian as well.

King Kong

The weapon in this photo is not actually a King Kong, though it's similar.  We think the photo might be a prototype for a T-49 (which was being designed for the possible invasion of Japan), or something similar.

Luftwaffe Purge

This is a good card for a German deck with heavy armor because it can be used to refit multiple hits on a single unit-making it even harder for your opponent to destroy those heavy German tanks.  If, for example, you've got a badly-damaged Tiger unit with four hits on it, you could refit one point normally, then play a Luftwaffe Purge, and if you rolled a 3 or better, you can use three points to completely refit the Tiger.

M7 Priest

The M7 Priest isn't a tank, even if it does look like one.  Although the Priest was built on a tank chassis, it served as an open-topped artillery unit with light side armor-that's why it's classified as an infantry-type unit.  This same thinking applies to other lightly-armored vehicles as well, including the Wespe and the Hummel.

Nashorn

We goofed on this unit-or rather, we made the wrong choice when we found conflicting information in our research.  If you use the Nashorn as is, it won't cause any serious imbal-ance in the game-but if you'd rather play it historically, treat the Nashorn as an infantry type card (not Armor) with a Def of 3-all other stats remain the same.